Day 4- Dinner

Imagine going to one of the best restaurants in the area and reading the extensive menu, then telling yourself you can’t order anything. It sucks.

Tonight a bunch of people in my sorority family were going out for a meal and I wanted to join so I decided I would go and see if I can find anything on the menu worth $2.95 or less. I was able to order a small french fries with one dipping sauce. That actually felt like a mini victory. This meal made me think about the concept of sharing food. Whenever I am eating a meal with people, I always offer for everyone else at the table to try some. Tonight people wanted some french fries and while normally I wouldn’t think twice about letting everyone have as much as they want, I ended up not letting them take any. It wasn’t a problem or anything since they understood how hungry I was and how I was participating in the SNAP challenge, but it made me think how normally I just give food away as if it’s worth nothing. This food was worth more than the $2.95 I paid because it was my entire meal for the night. It’s scary how these last two meals in the challenge have brought feelings of envy and selfishness.

The photo for this post is my french fries in the shape of the number four. I decided to take this picture because 4 not only represents the amount in dollars that I can spend on food everyday, but it is also the number of pounds I have lost since I started this challenge. The amount of food I eat feels like it has been cut in half.

Leave a comment